Lactose Free Dairy Products
Lactose free dairy products filter cows’ milk to remove roughly half of the lactose. The lactase enzyme is then added which breaks down the remaining lactose into simpler sugars that the body is able to absorb.
Key facts About Lactose Free Dairy Products
- Contains all the nutritional benefits and calcium levels of real dairy
- Lactose free dairy products have the same cooking properties as ordinary dairy products
- Lactose free dairy products are completely lactose free
Soya milk comes from soybeans and is made by soaking and grinding these beans with water. After straining, the remaining liquid is what is known as soy or soya milk.
Key Facts About Soya
- Main ingredient in soya milk is water
- Contains the soya protein, known to lower cholesterol, as well as omega 3 & 6
- Soya products are completely lactose free
Lactase Enzyme Tablets
Digestive enzymes are tablets or capsules that contain lactase. When taken immediately after consuming lactose-containing food, the enzymes break down the lactose and allow it to be digested.
Lactase enzyme liquid is also available to be added to milk before consumption. These pure lactase drops hydrolyse lactose into glucose and galactose, the simple sugars that the body can absorb, allowing the product to be safely consumed by those with lactose intolerance.
Key Facts About Lactase Enzyme Tablets
- Allows individuals to consume real dairy and receive the nutritional benefits
- The lactase enzyme is less effective if it doesn’t reach the small intestine before the problematic food does
- Should not be taken on an empty stomach as too much gastric acid denatures the lactase enzyme
Oat milk is made from oat groats, hulled grain that is broken up into fragments, combined with water. This mixture is boiled and simmered and once cooled and strained, forms oat milk. Plain oat milk has a very mild, slightly sweet flavour.
Key Facts About Oat Milk
- Other grains such as barley and brown rice can be added to oat milk in the production phase
- Oak milk thickens when cooked, similar to cows’ milk, but is completely lactose free
- As oat milk is high in fibre, it can help relieve constipation
Almond milk is a combination of almonds and water and can be made at home. Almonds are soaked in water for a period of time and then blended with more water. Once strained, the remaining liquid is almond milk.
Key Facts About Almond Milk
- Almond milk contains no cholesterol or lactose
- Plain almond milk can be used as a substitute for regular dairy in cooking
- Almond milk contains no animal products and is suitable for both vegans and vegetarians
Coconut milk is derived from the meat of a mature coconut and can be classed as either thick or thin. Squeezing grated coconut meat through cheesecloth makes thick coconut milk. The resulting substance is then soaked in water and squeezed a second time to create thin coconut milk.
Key Facts About Coconut Milk
- Coconut milk is differernt to coconut water or juice, which is the natural liquid found inside a hollow coconut
- Coconut milk is lactose free, gluten free, soy free and nut free
- Coconut milk contains no animal products and is suitable for both vegans and vegetarians
Rice milk is a variety of grain milk that is made with filtered water, brown rice syrup, brown rice starch and thickening agents. The process to make rice milk involves pressing the rice through a millstream and using diffusion to strain out the pressed grains. Rice milk can be made at home by boiling brown rice with a large volume of water and then blending and straining the mixture.
Key Facts About Rice Milk
- Rice milk contains no animal products and is suitable for both vegans and vegetarians
- Natural rice milk does not contain protein, cholesterol or lactose and is a good source vitamins B1, B2, niacin and iron
- Rice milk has a sweet taste that is generated by a natural enzymatic process that converts the carbohydrate into glucose
Goats’ milk contains lactose and although it is a slightly lower level than cows’ milk (approximately 4.1% versus 4.7%), can still cause an adverse reaction when consumed by those with lactose intolerance.
Key Facts About Goats' Milk
- Goats' milk is unsuitable for those with lactose intolerance
- Protein in goats' milk differs from cows' milk, making it a possible alternative for those with cows' milk allergy
- Goat's milk contains smaller fat particles than cows' milk, making it easier to digest